Return to Headlines

2021-2022 All-Academic Team

The 2021-2022 All-Academic Team 

The Board of Education was elated to celebrate the 2022 All-Academic Team in person this year on Tuesday, May 10th, at the New Bern Riverfront Convention Center. The evening was a wonderful event spotlighting our seniors who have maintained a 4.0 GPA or higher throughout their high school career. This year, 124 students representing all five high schools were honored to be named to the All-Academic Team.

The event also provides an opportunity for participation from our three traditional schools. West Craven High School JROTC presented the colors and New Bern High Band performed the prelude music and dinner music. This year, Havelock High had the honor of selecting a successful alum to deliver this year’s keynote message. Dr. Meghan Rebuli and her family graciously joined the Board of Education at the Banquet.

Dr. Meghan Rebuli graduated from Havelock High School in 2007. Some of her high school achievements include being Student Council President, Soccer Captain, and Marching Band Section Leader. She was awarded a Park Scholarship to attend North Carolina State University, where she earned her Bachelor’s in Science in Human Biology in 2011. She continued her education at NC State and earned a PhD in Zoology in 2015 where she specialized in neuroendocrine toxicology research.  She then completed her postdoctoral training in inhalation toxicology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She is currently an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in the School of Medicine.  In her research, she studies how male and female lungs respond differently to air pollution and new and emerging tobacco product exposure.  She has won a variety of awards in her field, published over 30 scientific articles and multiple book chapters, and has been featured on podcasts and in the popular press as an expert scientist.  

Craven County Schools proudly announces its All-Academic Team for the 2021-22 year:

Craven Early College

Phu Aung, Jordyn Blalock, Brianna Daughety, Benjamin Dees, Jordan Kearney, Kassandra Medina, Taylor Morris, Ryan Patacsil, Ines Perez-Chavarria, Freeda Po, Sarahi Ramos, Abigail Rawls, Peter Scarpati, Morgan Scotten-White, Moo Than, Olivia Van Sickle, Summer Wagner, Austin White

Early College EAST

Justin Brothers, La’Mya Cole, Elizabeth Knight, Katelynn Knight, Janessa Rexach, Nicholas Rivera, Bryce Wilkerson, Noah Ward, Kayden Washer

Havelock High School

Trinity Abney, Emily Anderson, Samantha Babauta, Melaney Caudill, Steven Colantoni, Lilia Dugay, Leigh Eborn, Katelyn Fabra, Trey Henke, Catherine Hurst, Shakira Jordan, Anna Lester, Noelle MacLaird, Connor Malosky, Maureen Molina, Natalie Prior, Jocelyn Randles, Kaelyn Swanner, Candice Tidwell, Shan Wang, Jayla Washington, Cierstynn Waterhouse, Caitlynn White

New Bern High School

Elizabeth Barnes, Makayla Barrow, Cadence Bass, Abbie Bender, Isabella Brown, Alicia Carrington, Brycen Champey, Samantha Clark, Miguel Cotto, Charlotte Crooks, Caitlin Daras, John Farrell, Sydney Futh, Sydney Gover, Marie Griffiths, Landon Hagy, Charles Jackson, Eh Jaw, Samantha Krupa, Sidney Land, Chloe Lawrence, Chloe Leffler, Emma Longenecker, Benjamin Lorio, Ryan Magee, Ella McCants, Jane McCants, Destinee Morris, Aislinn Murray, Mia Oldani, El Ree, Jacob Reyes, Molly Reynolds, Gabriella Rodriguez, Si Rolan, Kris Schardt,, Caroline Sensenig, Emma Seymour, Sierra Smith, Gabrielle Solter, Carter Starkweather, Holly Still, Alyssa Strickland, Paw Thaw, Lilly Thomas, Samantha Torres, Austin Van Dyke, Sophia Wagner, Matthew Wheelis,Malorie Woodard, Perri Woodard, Myen Y, Zhi Yang, Natalie Yates, Caitlyn Zeiszler

West Craven High School

Parker Braxton, Dominick Bruno, Rylee Casey, Ayden Cope, Briana Dunn, Morgan-Mae Everett, Biscello Gardner, Sydney Hawkins, Sarah Honbarrier, Carson Lackey, Cazeem Moore, Haley Potter, Sean Purifoy, Caroline Sutton, Layla Tokhli, Dagen Toler, Ryan Turnage, Kasen Walker, Gleno Waters