Return to Headlines

James W. Smith spotlights School Improvement Team

On February 26, 2020, the Craven County Board of Education and James W. Smith Elementary School spotlighted a High Performing Professional Learning Community/Team of individuals which began their role as School Improvement Team (SIT) members, team leaders, and goal team managers on July 22, 2019.  SIT started with revisiting the JWS school vision, mission, and core values to ensure that each were aligned with the JWS goals.  The team has worked diligently on planning, reviewing data, action steps, key strategies, next steps, and attending both school and classroom improvement trainings.  The team members continuously craft and reflect on best instructional practices and most of all, their “Why.” This team is truly on a mission to “Strengthen all students by providing them with Opportunities to Achieve positive, measurable Results.”

The following educators are celebrated for their contributions to this team and their focus on student success: Michelle Wall, Kristen McCoy, Charlene McCoy, Diane Bondurant, Ms. Kross, Ruthie Brown, Jennifer Jones, Ashley Fillingame, Rosa Ingram, and Katy Chadwick.